Moving forward to Paris…and Istanbul?!?

I recently started reading this AMAZING book called the 4 hour work week. I recommend anyone who thinks there’s more than one way to life should DEFINITELY read this. Few of my favorite comments:

  1. The manifesto of the dealmaker is simple. Reality is negotiable. Outside of science and law, all rules can be bent or broken, and it doesn’t require being unethical.
  2. An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field. – Niels Bohr, Danish physicist and Nobel prize winner
  3. People think happiness is the goal for life (I paraphrased this part). Happiness can be bought with a bottle of wine and has become ambiguous through overuse. There is a more precise alternative that reflects what [he] believes the actual objective is. What is the opposite of happiness? Sadness? No. just as love and hate are two sides of the same coin, so are happiness and sadness. Crying out of happiness is a perfect illustration of this. The opposite of love is indifference, and the opposite of happiness is — here’s the clincher — boredom. Excitement is the more practical synonym for happiness and it is precisely what you should strive to chase. It is the cure-all. When people suggest you follow your “passion” or your “bliss”, I propose that they are, in fact, referring to the same singular concept: excitement.

Basically, it says, what do we work for, money and happiness? For the people who earn the money, then what? You want to spend it and be happy right? But how long does that take, until retirement? He is suggesting that you make money, but don’t wait until the end to be happy, find time NOW. Be Excited Now! Then he goes into the concept of mini-retirements, but you can read the rest yourself.

So what’d I get out of that??? Well I’m still figuring it out, it’s not as easy as: hey I’ll buy my one way ticket now please…for some maybe…but I’m not quite there yet.

SO, I decided, what the hell, I want to see Paris, my dream destination? OK fine, then I will, NOW. I’ve also been reading this GREAT blog: My Beautiful Adventures and it really made me want to visit somewhere with a lot of culture and stories, so I went on Contiki, (I think I’ll try it once so I know, do I want to Contiki or not?), they were having a procrastinators deal and I booked it! Of course if you know me, it took me a day or two to think about it, but I do tend to make rash decisions, but this was the quickest turnaround I’ve had. 2 days! All I have to do is book my flight, but off to Paris and Istanbul I go!!!

8 day tour in Turkey (where I’ll visit TROY, fight on) and then spend 3 days by myself!! no tours!! in Paris 😀

This is by far the most epic moment of my life, maybe not a huge thing for other people who have traveled to Europe, but it’s going to be my first solo ADVENTURE!!!! In my mind, every time I think about this, I’m jumping up and down dancing, in my head of course. 🙂

Finally I’ll have something to blog about, REAL serendipitous adventures. YES.



Los Anglees -> Istanbul -> Canakkale -> Kusadasi -> Pamukkale -> Istanbul -> Paris -> Los Angeles

Epic trip commences September 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

